Yellow fever: Nsukka LG embarks on massive, free immunization

From PAT NNADI, Nsukka

Following a recent outbreak of yellow fever in Igbo-Eze North Local Area of Enugu State, and suspected cases in Breme in Nsukka Local Government Area of Enugu State, the Executive Chairman of Nsukka LG, Hon Barrister Cosmas Ibeziako Ugwueze, in compliance with the State government’s directives, has called on eligible citizens of the Council (from 9 months to 44 years) to urgently partake in the massive, free immunization against the disease, being undertaken by the State government across the council area.

Barr Cosmas Ugwueze, Chairman, Nsukka LGA, Enugu State

Earlier today, the state primary health care development agency, in a statement issued by its Executive Secretary, Dr. George Ugwu and made available to AbeyaNews, directed that the immunization be carried out to prevent further spread of the disease.

The release, which was entitled Announcement for mass yellow fever vaccination, read, in part: The Enugu State Primary Health Development Agency and partners implement yellow fever outbreak response activities (mass immunization) in Nsukka LGA of Enugu State for Eligible Citizens from Wednesday 18 to Friday 27 November, 2020.

“There will be free immunization interventions for all persons aged nine months to 44 years to protect them from dangerous yellow fever disease.”

The statement further explained that “yellow fever is a viral disease caused by specie of mosquito called Aedes Egypti. When it bites an infected person, it can transfer it to another person through its bite.”

Advising the citizens, the release stated that “all parents, care givers and general public are advised to take immunization and destroy all mosquito-breeding places, protect themselves by sleeping inside mosquito nets, wear protective dresses such as pong sleeves shirts, trousers and stockings always.”

AbeyaNews gathered that the immunization in Nsukka Local Government will take place in all the health centres and designated areas throughout the 20 wards  in the council area.

Venue: All Health centres/designated places across the 20 political wards of the council.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button