Edo, Ondo DecidePolitics

Ajayi: Many forces were against my bid for PDP ticket

* Says win or lose, his quest to liberate Ondo from 'personalalised' democracy has just started

The Deputy Governor of Ondo State, who dumped APC and the privileges of his position as Deputy Governor, for PDP to enable him run for governorship, has declared that he lost the bid for the ticket not so much to Eyitayo Jegede, who eventually won, as to the many forces that fought against his candidacy.
Ajayi came second in the PDP governorship primary held in Akure, the Ondo State capital, yesterday, with 600+ votes to Jegede’s winning 800+ votes.

Declaring that he fought a good fight, Ajayi noted that the exercise, which was won by former Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in the State, Mr Eyitayo Jegede was a battle he fought with determination in order to liberate the State.

In a statement issued by his Media Adviser, Allen Sowore, Ajayi said “following the outcome of the primary election of our party, the PDP, held on 22nd July, 2020, where Eyitayo Jegede was elected winner, we wish to thank the good people of Ondo State for standing with us in the struggle to liberate our State.

“The people have spoken, and we accept the outcome in good faith, knowing full well that it was a race against different forces. We remain undaunted and resolute about our commitment to a people- oriented government against personalized democracy,” he said.

The primary, which started on Wednesday and ended on Thursday morning, was won by Jegede who polled 888 votes to defeat Ajayi who had 657 votes.

Chairman of the primary committee and Enugu State Governor, Mr Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, who announced the result, said Jegede polled the highest number of lawful votes in the election and was, thus, validly elected as the PDP flag-bearer for the Ondo governorship election this October 10.

Other contestants in the election, including a former National Vice Chairman (South West) of the PDP, Dr Eddy Olafeso polled 175 votes, a former House of Representatives member, Dr Bode Ayorinde had 95 votes,

Mr Banji Okunomo polled 90 votes while Senator Boluwaji Kunlere garnered 33 votes.

Others are Chief Sola Ebiseeni who had 29 votes and Godday Erewa who had 14votes in the keenly contested primary, while 64 invalid votes were recorded out of 2011 total votes cast.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button